Sefferdog

By Sefferdog

Nature in action.....

For today's blip content has to take precedent over quality. Too far out, too heavily cropped, but what a day!!

I can't begin to tell you how stoked I am. There are only 400 whooping cranes in the world. A very, very rare bird. We have been so fortunate to have a pair of them that have been hanging out at the La Chua Trail for the past couple months. They stay very far out and it is difficult to get a good shot with just a 400mm lens.

Well, today was no different, but while I was watching them they got too close to a black necked stilt nest. The stilts started dive bombing them and harassing them in an effort to run them off. Unfortunately it didn't work, as the crane found the nest and ate the contents.

Very sad, but such is nature.

I got many shots, but like I mentioned, it was very far out there. If anyone would want to see more let me know and I will throw them up on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.