The Morning After

Blipbear and Kiwi slept in this morning, after their enthusiastic exploration of Phil's famed beer fridge last night. Blipbear woke up a bit the worse for wear, but hungry, and I pondered what to serve him, then decided that something involving the soothing effect of rolled oats would be just the thing.

Lady Findhorn brought me the splendid cookbook seen behind Blipbear, and many of the recipes include oats in various forms. I had all of the ingredients for the "Crunchy Rhubarb Crumble" except for a tablespoon of sesame seeds, so I substituted an ounce of chopped local hazelnuts, which, with the rhubarb I'd bought at last week's farmers' market, would give him a taste of what Whatcom County offers.

Although Blipbear's paw was a bit shaky as he lifted the first spoonful to his mouth, he soon perked up, and I expect will be ready for whatever the rest of the day offers!

Our other visitor eats grubs, worms, bugs, berries, and seeds. I wonder if Kiwi would like some rhubarb crumble when he wakes up?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.