Business As Unusual

On This Day In History
1960: Eddie Cochran dies and Gene Vincent is injured in a car crash in the U.K.

Quote Of The Day
" ..... all around it would have to be Eddie Cochran, because it wasn't just music with him; it was his guitar playing, his look, his singing. I'd say that all things considered, he's probably my favourite 'cat' of all time."
(Brian Setzer)

Yes, Eddie is a real cool cat, I agree. But these are my second favourite cats. I purchased and listened to their fifteenth studio album, Momento Mori, yesterday. It's a return to form after the somewhat disappointing Spirit. They thankfully avoid the mistake of doing politics, a very hit-and-miss undertaking with them, and return to larger, universal and spiritual themes. Despite a focus on death, it is a life-affirming album that not so much celebrates mortality as makes peace with it. The single, Ghosts Again, is a bright, poppy tune that hearkens back to their beginnings with Vince Clarke, with lyrics by men wise from age. 

Andrew Fletcher must be happy. R.I.P.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.