Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Sunday 16th April 2023 is not only Eastern Orthodox Easter but also my boy's 47th birthday.
Greg never reached 46, but today I wanted to celebrate his anniversary as though he were with me.
He was named for Gregory Peck's performance as Atticus Finch in To Kill a Mockingbird and his sense of right, wrong and fair play were immaculate. 
He saw the best in everyone.
He was just 17 when he came to live with me and I was only 15 years older than him.
Extraordinarily bright, he began university at 17 and left before completing his degree because he was so sought after. He really had no need for a clever badge.

Most unusually I cooked us a roast dinner, and while that was in the oven I called my beautiful friend Helen in Greece to wish her a Καλό Πάσχα!

Next I called Greg's mum in Ireland. We've always got along famously. We haven't spoken together since her younger son's wedding in 2015 because I imagined that close contact with my spouse's first family might antagonise him. We had such a lovely conversation today. She'd visited Greg's grave in the morning and she'd enjoyed having his kids to stay over Western Easter – they are soon to be 16 and 18. She told me both her sons were thrilled when I escaped their bullying father.

After lunch I went out to see my favourite local Irish jig band. Not Greg's style of music despite his Irishness, but the first commercial software he wrote was for LiveGigGuide and so for me, any live gig is a connection to my boy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.