A Wondrous Woman

The theme today for MonoMonday is "Woman", so I've spent ages looking for a photo of my Mum, an amazing woman who I never fully appreciated while she was still alive. Found this in the PowerPoint I prepared for her funeral nine years ago, took a photo of it on my laptop, so not great quality.

She trained as a midwife (and a secretary), then sailed off to Ecuador in the 50's, lived in an Indian village with an Ecuadorian woman, met my widowed American Dad, (with two teenagers), married, had me and my sister, then they went off to Brazil, to live deep in the Amazon forest, with another tribe. Here she is teaching us (me at the board) in our little mud schoolroom.

So much more I could say, like, she had another daughter and two sons after us. Both my sisters and my younger brother are Blippers. Her twin sister reads my Blips every day, feel free to add or correct, Auntie Helen!

Gratefuls:
- my Mum
water again!! so grateful, especially to be able to water the poor thirsty trees and plants 
- Chico, our hero today, sorting out our electrics and water

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.