It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

It's all ok

It was a struggle to get out of bed this morning as I was lacking energy. On reaching work, I found that a meeting had been put in my diary for 9am and I was hit cold. I coped. The day then progressed like a snail on ketamine but I was buoyed by an after work trip to North Tea. I treated myself to a wonderful Square Mile roasted Rwandan Cup of Excellence, skilfully extracted by Wayne. Gorgeous. Sweet, smooth, buttery pruneyness with a hint of citrus acidity to balance it out.

I didn't fancy going home so headed off to the Cornerhouse to watch a movie 'Something in the Air" or "Apres Mai" if you prefer. It was a French subtitled film by Olivier Metayer. It meandered for just over 2 hours without a plot following an anarchist romantic teenage artist called Gillies, in my year of birth, 1971. Even without a plot, it beats the homogenised Hollywood piffle that is most commonly seen in cinema. The good atmospheric cinematography, period music and fashion went a long way in pleasing my senses, I liked Gillies too, who reminded me of the naive idealism of youth.

Not being properly young anymore, I don't really know what goes down with the kids but I sense that such idealism is less common these days. Rebellion and resistance against the machine seems to have been lost, especially from a left-wing perspective. I suppose it's easy to romanticise about being like Gillies, forgetting than many aspects of anarchy and revolution are as bad as the Tea Party capitalism that is permeating society at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.