Woman

Women have always played the strongest roles in my life as a child and as an adult. My mother had 4 sisters and a sister-in-law - they were a village unto themselves. This is her youngest sister, Aunt Flossie and she is the last surviving one. Her daughter, Cathy was my first friend. Our mother's worked together and so my grandmother babysat us during the day. Nonni's home was our weekday home until I was a freshman in high school. This photo was taken on Aunt Flossie's 90th birthday - she was always the most fun of all the aunts and the easiest to be with. She recently had a birthday, 95. I haven't seen her in a few years and I've heard she has dementia and isn't always the sweetest lady but she is still living independently (with help). I celebrate all the women in my life and more recently those that I call friends, the ones who are always there for a chat, a shoulder or whatever is needed. 

I've put an Extra in too because there are so many things I admire about that woman, my daughter-in-law. Having survived the Rwandan genocide but without her parents, she has done so much in her short life and is a wonderful example of a strong woman for her daughter, my sweet Na'iema.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.