Blue Eyes

Three jackdaws have come into the feeder of late and although I like their pale blue eye I am not a fan as they ravage our small bird nests in the garden which is distressing. The blackbirds seem to have an especially hard time of it.

They are said to be a bad omen, a portent of early death or even rain but in the Fens  if encountered on the way to a wedding was a good omen. There is no accounting for these sayings in folklore. 

Conversely they can predict a new arrival  (well not in our house), are supposedly friendly and mate for life. I've just read that they can befriend you, as corvids can distinguish you from other humans and might even bring you presents as a thank you for being kind  

The dogs greeted me with delight when I got back from Yorkshire -  it was strange not being with them over the last days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.