"In 100 yards go straight on"!

I don't think so TomTom!!
I'd already been down this road but on the other side of the concrete blocks, see Extra which I took on the way to where I was going (West Swindon)
I was following the SatNav from Gloucester to a specific post code in Swindon and was surprised when it told me to leave the A417 just beyond Cirencester as the A417/A419 goes all the way to Swindon. I later realised it was because the place I was going is West of Swindon, in fact, as above, it is called West Swindon! It took me through Cricklade and then down some very small roads, narrowing down to almost be farm tracks. There were a number of signs on the way saying "No access to Swindon for Motor Vehicles". I trusted the SatNav and kept following it, for about 3 miles. I then came across these concrete LEGO blocks. If I'd been on the bike I could have made it but not in the car.
So, I turned around and, after only about 200 yards, the SatNav told me to go next left and all was well. It eventually took me to the other side of the concrete blocks when, as above, I stopped to take the photo.
The main photo was on the way home when I was told to go straight on, impossible of course, so I stopped and took the photo. 
Apart from that it was quite a pleasant 1.5 hours drive.
On the way back I also stopped at 'The Highwayman', the other Extra, an ancient Inn on the A417 which was a staging post for carriages travelling to Gloucester where they could change their horses and give the passengers a comfort break and a meal. All traffic heading to Wales had to go through Gloucester as there were no bridges across the River Severn in those days, don't think so anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.