Looking for the beauty

By looking4beauty

Day 1 New York

An amazing first day.  We started quite literally on a high with the outstanding Empire State Building. I was extremely nervous as I hate heights and lifts but I did it for Chris as this was his big birthday holiday. I closed my eyes and clung to him the whole way up but it was definitely worth it for the views. I wasn't as nervous as I thought I'd be at the top. Chris continued to the 104th floor and found it a bit wobbly! 
we then walked to Times Square and booked our Broadway show before boarding the Big Bus Tour downtown to the boat to take us to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. We felt a bit like sardines squashed in the queue and on the boat and I didn't really enjoy this experience. Seeing Liberty from the river would have been better. The staff on Ellis Island were rude and rushed us around and off the island where I was keen to learn more about immigration. My advice is to give it a miss if you're headed for NYC. 
We caught the Big Bus back up to Times Square and finished off with a Broadway show (the first one for us both) - the fantastic Lion King. This was one of my highlights of the whole trip. Great acting and singing, spectacular special effects and costumes and brilliant lighting.  It was expensive but worth it. What an end to an amazing first day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.