dfb24

By dfb24

1953 Buick Special

I was slowing down to turn into my driveway when this eye-catching car drove past me! Of course I watched to see where it went, & the driver pulled in just 3 houses down. It was our neighbors' son driving the car. Needing a blip for the day, & thinking this was a pretty cool old car, my husband & I went over to see it up close. It seems, in one of those odd, random set of circumstances, that the son always wanted a classic car-- a friend of his ran into someone from a little town in south western Wisconsin who knew an old farmer who had 30-some cars stored in his 2 barns & wanted to sell some of them. What's the chance? So he & his friend drove up to look at them, & this is the one he bought. It was originally black but was repainted about 15 years ago. The inside is totally original, whith all the shiney chrome knobs & shiney chrome on the dash! It hadn't been started up or moved in 8 years, but they put a new battery in & it started right up! He let me sit inside & I think I scared him for a minute, because I jokingly asked it I could take it for a spin. He laughed & said "If you can drive it, go ahead". He wasn't expecting me to say "Oh, it's a 3 speed on the column, which is what I learned to drive on.. No problem!" Needless to say, he didn't give me the keys! Ha!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.