CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A treecreeper at close range

On a walk I suddenly saw this treecreeper fly onto the lower part of a tree trunk right in my path. I don't often see them at all let alone at fairly close range and with the bird not choosing to fly away.

I got my camera out of my bag and luckily it only crawled a feet feet up the trunk, probably more interested in possible food amongst the bark and the moss. Unfortunately I was in a dark spot sheltered by overhanging branches and a nearby building, but I was still delighted.

The treecreeper was ascending the tree in a fashion true to its described behaviour, unlike its close relation the nuthatch which prefers to descend a trunk. We are lucky to have nuthatches visiting our garden regularly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.