Brougham Castle. (pronounced: Brew am)

This lovely castle is set by the River Eamont near Penrith.  there  has been a fortification on the site since Roman times.  The flat land just the outside of these walls, to the left is the evidence.  The River Eamont was once the border with Scotland and England; a border which was redrawn north of Carlisle after years of fighting.  I have visited here in different seasons and today it was quiet.  Over Easter it wasn't so the guide told me.  I was able to sit and decide where I would take my photos.  There is always something different to see.  Today there were crows using the windows as routes to their nests, but the most spectacular was the purple Aubretia on the walls.  It was super and something I hadn't seen before.  Asking the guide, the aubretia was probably blown into cracks from Lady Anne Clifford's garden.   Lady Anne was a castle restorer and owner. She included a garden in her designs.   Usually there are sheep within the grounds.
If you can shut out the traffic noise from the A66 it is very rural and peaceful.
My extra shows an example of the Aubretia clinging to part of the castle wall.  Well worth a visit.  I like this view because the lone tree and castle wall leads to the distant trees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.