and through the wire...

By hesscat

Routines

For a few years now when working, Arlo and I try to have a special walk on a Wednesday and we seem to be in the routine of going down the road to nowhere. When the sun shines, it feels like you are walking into an undiscovered land, the South Esk flowing down on the right, over waterfalls, and we've never seen anyone down there.

Arlo also loves his routine, after reaching Horace's bridge and I left him off, he runs off up a bank because he once saw a deer probably over a year ago, while I hide behind a tree and he comes racing back to find me. Walking down a bit, there is a lower level next to the river we once had a look around, and Arlo is always down there waiting for me to arrive and throw a stick down. After we emerge out of the bushes, it is squirrel watch, and it doesn't take much for him to have a race around hoping he'll see something. We approach the bridge to nowhere, where I throw sticks into the river and get him to run across to the other side. It is often shallow there which he likes. On to the river junction with Redside Burn (from Edgelaw) for more sticks. If I have my wellies, we cross and return via the normal path, otherwise back up the way we came.

It was just lovely down there today, every box ticked and we came out weller than we went in. Yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.