The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Harrowing

In the evening I spent a happy couple of hours in the cab with our nephew while he was power harrowing a field before his Dad seeds it with Spring barley. There was a time in this journal when I used to call him the Little Fella when he and his brother used to spend a few days with us in Arnside. He’s a much bigger fella than me now, and he was in charge of the most powerful tractor on the farm. As we passed up and down the field, the sun was setting, rooks were feeding on the freshly harrowed earth and he taught me a lot about how the farm is managed.

It was a good end to a busy and productive day. The best thing that happened was that the Jazz passed its MOT, rather unexpectedly I have to say. So we have our trusty, rusty 16 year old little car for another year at least for ferrying around loads of tools, bikes bricks and other stuff as we settle into our new life here.

Thank you for the comments stars/hearts on the Reggie backblip. We have another busy day today, but I shall catch up later in the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.