twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

A joint WFH morning before a lunchtime swim (I held the hound; well someone had to... that biting NE wind was vicious) and then She was off, leaving me in peace for the afternoon. 

Although, by 4 my attention was wandering and the need to book train tickets overtook any focus I had on work.

Scotrail operate his peak time travel thingy. If you travel from Queen St, Central, Haymarket or Waverley between 1630 and 1815 then they do their best to absolutely rip you off. So with some jiggery pockery I worked out that £18 for Haymarket to Edinburgh Park then Edinburgh Park to Dumbarton East was over half the price of a full fat fare to Dumbarton East. Given I'm already nearly £70 quid out on Dumbarton (A) and three postponements and yet to see a ball kicked, I'm loathe to spend another £30 - odd. 

The boys arrived; duly donned red and white, scoffed a burger and jumped onto a 47 whilst I sped off on the bike (no sense in spending £4 I don't have to when it'll fund the pies)

At Haymarket I tried to get Kids for a Quid; and was told they couldn't be used in conjunction with off peak travel. Until the co worker sitting next to the one I was with said 'actually you can' and laughed when I showed my tickets for the journey. He told me it was legit but not encouraged as Scotrail like to screw every penny out of you. (An aside, I note peak travel is to be scrapped in October - Green Revolution, anyone?)

The boys arrived at 1755, the train left at 1759 with us on it. Phew!

A glorious evening, not a cloud in the sky. How could they possibly postpone this a 5th time?

Dumbarton East at 1929; we were seated by 1941 and greeted the Champions Elect with a huge roar 3 minutes later. 

Binos had the best of the first half; with Dumbarton oddly time wasting from the outset. They needed the win, the draw practically gift wrapped the title for the Binos. Hey ho.

To be fair there was a 10 minute spell at the start of the 2nd half where Dumbarton showed some endeavour and guile but normal service was resumed and a tight nervy game ended in a goalless draw. As some wag on twitter said 'all that for that?'. Still 9 points advantage, 9 points to play for; a superior goal difference of 19? Red and white ribbons have been ordered for the trophy. 

A sprint back to the station; and 90 minutes later that was marginally more exciting than the 90 we'd witnessed on the pitch, we stoated up Shandwick Place for the last 47 of the day. 

Home around 0015. Tired. But champions. (Almost)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.