A rubbish day ...

A cold,foggy start today which made it difficult to find all my calving cows when I checked them .
Eventually found K26 had calves in the middle of the rashes,and L18 was at the march fence with one leg poking out her.
So had to gather up a team and walk her in . Tried calving her,but it was a big calf and wasn't coming out the intended route so phoned the vet. When he arrived he tried pulling it the same as me before deciding it would have to come out the side door
Left them to it as I had a load of blks to take to the mart.
Got there,dumped them in a pen,washed out the trailer,grabbed a quick bite in the canteen then back up the road.
When I got back,the cow was stitched up but her calf was delivered dead. Don't think I'll twin another one on her as she is about 16 years old.
The contractor here spreading fertilizer on all the spring barley ground as I can't find time to do it my self.
And just to round off the day nicely ,when I fed the sheep ,some clowns had fly tipped a load of crap in the wood side.
It's amazing what you can tell about them . They like Costa coffee,have been doing a garden and some plaster board work,smoke Lambert and Butler fags,and have changed their socks and underpants ,oh and there was also some 3 in one oil. Make of that what you will !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.