Capturing my Journey

By thedoglady

Stacked

This was the rounds we didn't get split before winter. Our store is still pretty full too. They were in the middle of the yard under a tarp all winter and I knew I wanted it moved. With husband calving I also knew they wouldn't be split anytime soon so I thought I'd just stack them there. Honestly if I'd known how much there was I probably wouldn't have done it. There was twice as much as I thought there was funny how a higglety pile looked less than a neat stack. Plenty of firewood anyway! The dogs enjoyed mooching about outside while I stacked. 

“The greatest gift of life on the mountain is time. Time to think or not think, read or not read, scribble or not scribble — to sleep and cook and walk in the woods, to sit and stare at the shapes of the hills. I produce nothing but words; I consumer nothing but food, a little propane, a little firewood. By being utterly useless in the calculations of the culture at large I become useful, at last, to myself.” ~ Philip Connors

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.