Anniemay

By Anniemay

The 'Round' Pound

My blip is our 'round pound' (the nickname given to it when it was first introduced in 1983). The word pound is very nearly round. It's round but for one little tail on the 'P'.

As I was looking around for the coins to put in the picture I started to look at all the different kinds of pound we have. I handle them every day but don't really look at them. There are different English, Scottish and Welsh pounds. They all have the Queen on the obverse side but the Queens head has three different designs (I've never noticed this). There are many different designs for the reverse side. Wikipedia says that between 1983 and 2008 the designs were changed each year to show, in turn designs representing, England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. they also have different designs on the edge of the coins.

The design on the top coin here is the Dragon Passant representing Wales. Round the side it has the inscription:
PLEIDOL WYF I'M GWLAD - True I am to my Country

The other edge designs here are:
DECUS ET TUTAMEN - a symbol and a shield

And the one with no words is described in Wikipedia as 'two overlapping lines, one curved and one angular' (you have to look really closely to see that the two lines are, indeed, different.

I didn't have one of these but this is a Scottish edge inscription:
NEMO ME IMPUNE LACESSIT - No-one provokes me with impunity (Igor has Scottish ancestry and likes this typical Scottish fighting talk.)

It's worth going to have a peek at the Wikipedia page about the pound coin. I never look at them as I spend them and yet the designs and their meanings are fascinating. I will be looking more closely in future and maybe making a little 'collection' of the different designs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.