Pictorial blethers

By blethers

And all that jazz …

Today began with the quietness of the cats (sequel to Silence of the Lambs?) in the empty house and ended, or almost ended, with the sensory overload of the ESMS Big Band giving it laldy to a packed church. Sounds good doesn’t it? Maybe I should explain that the jazz and blues evening, for which we have come to Edinburgh, took place in a converted church, where, once upon a time, Himself’s cousin was married.

We really spent the day making sure we were up to the evening, so to speak. We went a walk round the ‘hood while the weather was still relatively sunny, and found our family back in the house when we returned. And in the afternoon I treated myself to a couple of hours sitting curled up with a book in which I became utterly involved in a way I associate with my own teens. It felt like a holiday.

The result of all this was our being able to enjoy the jazz evening, enjoy chatting to family and to complete strangers, and enjoy hearing Catriona’s fabulous sound on her trombone. (The photo shows her on stage with the smaller ensemble, on the left - she puts her stand too high for her face to show!) And all this, after himself’s having made a hole in his hand getting out of the car, we had in fact, arrived at the venue too early and blagged our way in to keep a table. We even walked home afterwards in great spirits and felt up to eating prawn toasts and spring rolls before bed …

But now, I fear, I grow incoherent. Let us cease upon the midnight…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.