Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Abbey Tree

I took delivery today of a new ultra-wide 16mm lens which (probably!) completes my kit ranging from 16mm to 500mm on full frame, plus a couple of macro lenses. So I had to head out to give it a try, and nearby Waverley Abbey seemed the obvious spot.

From first impressions, this lens is gong to take some getting used, especially composition-wise. It also requires more effort in post-processing to reduce distortions, even after applying the lens profiles, but I am really pleased with the results so far.

The extra is a 3-shot panorama of the undercroft, which is one of the main features of this 12th century ruined Cistercian monastery, the first to be founded in England. The main image is of one of the trees about the site which have grown up to seemingly support the remaining walls; this one being part of the main abbey church transept.

I think I may have fun with this lens, and at only 165g it will happily not add too much weight to the camera bag!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.