Lunchtime for the Kestrel Family

The kestrels are breeding in the big tree again.
I was scanning the tree in the morning with the camera when I heard the young kestrels in their nest. They are really loud when they get fed.
Have tried for a while already to get a shot of the adults or the young. 

Today I thought I had finally discovered one of the adults feeding one of the young. It wasn't until I looked closely at the screen that I noticed I was wrong. You may not want to enlarge the photo to see what the adult was actually doing.....one more as an extra.
What is it he's got? A mouse? Not a rat, the tail is too short. Any other ideas?. 

More Sunday news: Went for another walk and a thunderstorm surprised me. I have no idea where it came from - it just started out of nowhere!
I was in mostly open field in hilly landscpape and the only shelter around was a bigger tree in a group of more trees which I leaned against to protect me from rain and the strong wind that had come up with it. Neither the open field nor the tree good places to be when there is lightning, I know. If it hadn't been a rather short intermezzo with the lightning I would have tried to hide away in the center of the trees on the ground. But I was lucky and it didn't last long. Still got soaked and had another 2 kilometers to home. But the shower at home was nice and warm.....

20:10; 13°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.