Steaming

Had the makings of a lazy day when I read the paper in bed til after 9am, but in fact in the end I got a lot done.
Started by walking down to Stockbridge to collect my bus pass from the restaurant I left it in on Tuesday, of course just as I set off it started to rain and my hood kept flapping off annoyingly (so later I bought elastic and threaded it through the hood edge so I can stop that happening again!)
Had a wander round the market and bought a couple of huge gorgeous tomatoes and some asparagus, then home and did some family history. Glad to find something about one of the ancestors other than just birth, death and marriage dates…even it was just that he was arrested three times for theft! Wish I could find out more about their various lives but since I suspect that as weavers and seamstresses they didn’t own or write much, what is there surviving them to tell their stories?
Chatted to Mt’s friend who’s staying with me whilst she works in their old lab here, talking about Sicily (where she’s from) and Mt (we FaceTimed him) as well as science and living in Edinburgh. I did the ironing and she did some batch cooking for her lunches whilst we talked. She remembered how I used to bake for their lab when Mt lived here so I decided to make some carrot cake cupcakes for her to take in tomorrow.
Made us a roast chicken supper and we compared pictures of beaches on the Hebrides and Sicily, then worked together on getting the elastic into my coat hood (my fingers kept cramping up so I couldn’t do it on my own) and then we watched Bake Off before she had an early night ready for her busy week ahead. Mine looks more laid back!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.