Shining Tor

I stayed near Preston overnight, on my way to an event in Blackpool tomorrow.  Today was free to go walk up a hill with a radio.

I had planned to go up a hill near Clitheroe, but it was pouring with rain in Preston and looked like Clitheroe would be the same, so I looked at the forecast and hastily re-planned for something further south - Shining Tor in the Peak District.

It was an easy walk of 3.5km with only about 150m elevation gain from where I parked, and most of the path was paved (see Extras)!  Bizarre. 

When I got to the summit there were some antenna up already - a couple of guys were already running a Summits On The Air station!  I said hello then set up on the other side of the summit to give them some space.  This trip I was experimenting with a pop-up shelter, which worked very well to keep me (and my kit) out of the wind (see Extras).  It weighs very little and is easy to set up and collapse.  

I made about 24 contacts across the UK and Europe before heading back down, and off to Blackpool to meet up with some other Edinburgh club folk for a curry.

A very pleasant way to spend a day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.