Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Huddersfield A - Z - Hang gliding at Holme Moss

(ok so I know it's actually para-gliding, but that's not alliterative)

After yesterday's winter, today is firmly summer, glorious skies and really quite hot. Except for at the top of Holme Moss where it was a bit nippy. Just on the border with Derbyshire, the hill stands 1719 feet above sea level, with a radio transmitting mast at its peak. If you live in Derbyshire, Greater Manchester or West Yorkshire, you probably get your radio signal from this.

The reservoir towards the middle of the shot is Digley, which I Blipped a few days ago, and you can see Emley Moor Mast, which I Blipped the day after. Holmfirth snakes through the valley back toward the main town of Huddersfield in the distance.

God only knows why I took it at that aperture, I was wearing non-prescription sunglasses, which look great but are not good if I actually want to see anything! Try it large anyway.

Oh a song - not sure that this isn't an abomination, let me know. This is no doubt better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.