Joan’s blips

By Keepingitsimple

A lovely surprise

What a lovely surprise it was this morning when I ventured out the back door and saw my first hibiscus flower. I planted it very recently and was not expecting a flower so soon. The extra gives an indication of its small size.

I created a very low maintence back garden last year as my eye and fatigue issues at the time demanded it. I am now planning to expand it with a few more plants. The tag did not indicate the colour so that was a surprise as well.

This is a hibiscus syriacus and belongs to the mallow family. Named syriacus because its origins had been collected from gardens in Syria.

It has been a quiet day other than the usual household duties. A new front door key ordered after it broke and a transfer of my phone and internet to another company. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.