Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

The Graduate!

Well, as those of you who follow my journal know, today I was at my Malawian 'son's graduation! It was as splendid occasion which of course started late as in 'African time'!! It went on for a long time too!! I took almost 200 pictures today but I really like this one with the tassels caught in his glasses - it was taken as they were lining up to parade into the hall!

Fidelis is a remarkable young man who has a great future ahead of him. His Mother died when he was only 9 years old and he struggled to go to school but his Aunt kindly helped him. Then he got a job and decided he would like to further his career and go to college. He paid the first semester himself from savings which in this country is something of a miracle! Today he is the proud holder of a Degree in Communications and I am the proud 'Mum' of the graduate!!

Hope you all had a great Saturday too. Tomorrow its back up the road to Mzuzu!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.