pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

All the meals

With heads a little groggy from drinks the night before, we eventually rose, had a massive breakfast (as you do in a hotel) and set off for Menai Bridge.

I was excited as I got to drive the nice car again and take it over the suspension bridge (extra - pictured from a viewpoint) on a glorious day. We had a little wander around Menai Bridge itself and then headed to a pub to meet LadyV’s auntie and uncle for a spot of lunch. I can’t say that I was particularly hungry after breakfast, but somehow demolished a bacon double cheeseburger.

We left the pub and headed back to Conwy where we treated to a hot chocolate and cake whilst we waited out some inclement weather. Auntie and Uncle were soon on their way leaving LadyV and I to have a nice wander about the genuinely lovely town. We picked up some dragon souvenirs for our respective children and a couple of bargains in the local Fatface sale!

Unsatisfied by mine own, LadyV was disappointed to find that the local mussels place was closed, so we vowed to have a seafood dinner. We walked around some more - a little more than was required actually as we’d temporarily lost our bearings and didn’t know where we had left the car - and admired the outside of the amazing castle. 

Following a nap (her) and a catch up of a good book (me) it occurred to us that we hadn’t eaten in about five minutes and so we booked ourselves in at The Seahorse in Llandudno. It was immense. A proper bistro. The food was so delicious that despite my lack of hunger, I could have eaten it all again whilst it was all I could do to stop LadyV licking her plate. She also had the better view as a family meal going on behind me deteriorated into tears and tantrums with at least two people eventually storming out.

We made our way back to the car in the rain and enjoying the added frisson as word of Wrexham’s promotion back into the football league began to spread.

Brilliant day. I’m never eating again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.