Pitiful Little Fellow

Sitting outside on the patio eating lunch, I heard this pitiful little chirping. I looked around and didn't see anything until I glanced down on the arm of my chair; this tiny baby bird sat helpless so I moved him to a bush outside the glass railing. Soon the mother flew into a nearby hedge and the baby flew a short distance to join her. (see extra photo.) 

This morning we attended our favorite church in Kona; the sermon was very meaningful and inspiring. We decided to drive South down the shoreline to Captain Cook Park; the view was amazing until the rain clouds brought a downpour of rain at the 1500-foot elevation. We stopped at a cute little fruitstand and had the best fresh fruit smoothies. 

We ate lunch when we got back and rested awhile before going snorkeling for about one hour. It was a little overcast and the bay was choppy so the snorkeling wasn't great. My husband only stayed in for a short time but I enjoyed seeing some new fish so I stay out there longer. It is reassuring that there is a lifeguard looking out for us, but snorkeling seems extremely safe to me. My only issue today was a beautiful Triggerfish that was aggressive and determined to chase me away; he kept swimming directly at my camera, I have never seen that kind of behavior before. It was interesting that the lady sitting next to me in the hot tub mentioned her daughter was frightened snorkeling today by an aggressive Triggerfish; she talked to the lifeguard and learned they are "nesting" and protecting the area. Sounds weird to me, but I guess parents are protective, even fish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.