Reflecting on the Past

An enjoyable day in the sunshine, meeting up with other blippers for a photographic stroll around Cambridge, off the beaten track. Coffee and cake on the way was welcome. It brought back memories for me, as we wandered through the streets I had known as a child, mostly unrecognisable now, apart from the names! I took this picture in the cemetery that runs through from Mill Rd to Norfolk Street. I can remember taking a short cut, running through there with my school friends on the way to the Playhouse Cinema, now the Salvation Army Charity shop. Two schools I used to attend are now blocks of flats, and the lovely Victorian house we had was compulsory purchased in the late 60's to extend Young St school which never happened. The plot is still vacant, although it is fenced in, probably for more accomodation to be built. Time moves on, but the happy memories are still there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.