Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

I was so glad to see this today. Besides herself sitting on the nest there were another three pairs in her enclosure all doing the sexy neck dance. Seriously hot stuff!

It made me think about my Borough, swans, and my neighbour, so I have written this;

His Majesty The King
Buckingham Palace
London SW1A 1AA


Your Majesty,
I moved to Bedford in the last year and I must say it's a lovely town. It has a great many swans, all of which belong to you, and a great many geese, ducks, moor hens and herons which do not. I have not been here during the nesting season previously and it is very exciting; seeing the birds pair up, make nests and begin sitting. I had been worried for the safety of the nesting birds so I was pleased to see this morning that Bedford Borough Council has been erecting little warning fences around the swans' nests to make sure that members of the public are careful and considerate. They have not done the same around any of the other nests and it made me wonder: -
Have the swans been singled out because they are white, royal, or private property?
Has this protection been requested by the Crown or has my local council elected to do this themselves?
Has it been paid for by the Crown or by your loyal subjects who pay council tax in Bedford?

Don't mistake me for someone who is cross about it either way, I am not.

The reason I raise the issue is that also this weekend my neighbour slit his wrists because he is not receiving the care, attention and support that he needs, which is presumably also in the remit of my local Borough Council.

Don't worry, I know you don't get involved in politics, but please hear me out.

We all know why this is happening.
Ever since 1979 your subjects have been rewarded for being selfish and greedy. Because they are rewarded they keep voting for the selfish and greedy people who reward them. And the selfish and greedy people who reward them do so because they want to remain in power where they can continue to make the rich wealthier and the poor more desperate.

Only you have the means to switch it around.
The same switch that turns Dog into God turns King into Kind.

There is nothing at all to prevent you from publicly and generously rewarding kindness. You have the power to make kindness fashionable. When kindness becomes fashionable then greed and selfishness become unfashionable. And then you have a nation of subjects you can be really proud of.

Please give it some thought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.