Rock Lists

Following the nostalgic Blip by Kagsy I said I would Blip some of my Music Books.  They don't have the same personal connection that hers has - mine were more used in compiling lists of the hits on specific dates etc for recording on cassettes (Birth years were always popular).
Back in 1952 Radio Luxembourg started broadcasting the Top 20 as compiled by the NME (New Musical Express).  The host was Pete Murray and the broadcast was from 11pm to midnight.  I recall huddling by the radio listing all the records in order so that at school I had the very latest chart details before the NME was published later in the week. Monday mornings were very important as we all discussed the results - and sang many of the hits.  Memories, memories.... :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.