CathyH

By CathyH

Blackberry Winter

The blackberries are blooming. The temperatures are cold this week. Put those two things together and you have what we in the south call Blackberry Winter; a cold snap when the blackberries are blooming.


Blackberries bring back wonderful memories with my grandfather. Each year all the cousins would gather at my aunt and uncle.'s house during the summer. The highlight of the week was going on a wagon ride pulled by Papaw on his old red tractor. He'd pull us right up to the blackberry bushes where we'd pick blackberries for my aunt to make a cobbler and of course, eat as many as we could! I remember the stained fingers, the prickly thorns and the occasional snake! 


I love blackberry cobbler. I haven't made one in a while. I think I'll be watching for them and just do that this year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.