I don't think I've ever possessed a wardrobe as an item of furniture. I've put up rails in alcoves loads of times and I once got someone talented to create a built-in wardrobe - though it never had any doors because he left them in his workshop and there was a flood.

I've put up two rails in alcoves here so far but there isn't a sensible space for one in my bedroom so last week I bought two clothes racks on wheels. They didn't look all that strong in the photos but they had good reviews so I hoped for the best. I'm glad I assembled only one of them and left the other box unopened. It's impossibly flimsy and is a weird design with two rails too close to each other. I took the unopened one back today for a refund and shortly after I got home the first one collapsed, damaging the bit of plastic that holds a wheel in place. So I've removed the clothes, extracted from a box my absurd quantity of scarves (I love fabric) and loaded them onto the two rails instead. Now that I can see them all I'll go through and find new uses for fabric I like but am not likely to wear. And I'll enjoy wearing some old forgotten friends. There's one on there that memorably caught fire during a concert when I moved too near a candle in the church we were singing in. That's a keeper.

(Just seen that Blip Community's challenge for the first half of May is 'Serenity'. Had to laugh. Not happening here.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.