SilverImages

By SilverImages

St Michael & All Angels

“There are two kinds of people: those who say to God, 'Thy will be done,' and those to whom God says, 'All right, then, have it your way.'
C.S.Lewis
Relaxed start to the day to the sound of heavy rain so no rush to get up. Meeting J for lunch. Headed to pub under new ownership, give it a go. Pulled into the car park, it’s closed today. Number two was an old favourite after badminton many years ago – no food on a Monday. While driving to number three J mentioned another place that had recently been painted – another pub from teenage years where a group of us were banned ‘for not drinking enough’.
Although the story appeared in the local press, we were the pub darts team after all, we didn’t push it as we were all under-age.
The pub was open and serving food so we settled in for a few hours catching up. He reminded me that we’d taken up walk together up Sugarloaf in 2009, and
his travels to Shetland and Orkney to visit old sites. He also likes to wander around photographing old buildings and churches, just like me – how come I never realised that before, looks like another fellow-traveller in search of Blipfoto posts. As we left I noticed the church next door looking very photogenic, so after my post lunch doze I went for a walk there to get my Blipfoto, fortunately the rain held off for my hour or so wander. During my walk around I was reminded of the connection to the old Abbey - there was an opening in the stone wall to the old abbey grounds behind, now part of Abbey Fields housing estate. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.