A Mini Clubman called Daisy

Twice in my life I have bought old classic cars, though I know nothing at all about mechanics. In the 80s I bought a down at heel Morris Minor Traveller which was a great car and totally reliable.  Almost twenty years later I bought a 1972 Mini Clubman and  called her Daisy. My ex encouraged  me to buy her. We were still a good team. I loved Daisy but although perfectly solid she was less than reliable. Components would give out without warning. After a couple of years I decided that I needed a more reliable car. I feel sad about it now. Why didn’t I keep that lovely wee car? The only time I saw her after that she had been painted blue and orange. The indignity of it. The extra picture is from a holiday I had with my kids and Daisy in Gairloch.  She got up all the hills well enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.