Second-time-around

By Skysea7

Two robins saved this week

I thought it would be good to have a robin photo taken with my proper camera rather than my mobile.  I was pleased to get some of my melianthus plant in the background.

On Monday morning I was woken by the sound of feathers in flight mode, followed by by cat!  Robins have a distinctive flying sound!  He flew up and sat on my curtain pole.  Robins seem more sensible than other birds who often flutter in panic against windows when caught.  But the robin just sat still.  He watched me while I opened the curtains and the windows (having first shut my cat out of the room!).  Then he calmly flew down onto the  windowsill and flew out of the open window into a nearby tree!  He seemed to be flying well.  Later I found a few discarded  robin feathers in my living room.

Yesterday I was literally on my way out to a dentist appointment (an hour long root canal filling which I couldn't really cancel) when my cat brought in another robin.  I ejected the cat and saw that the robin was just hopping along the carpet, but I wasn't sure if he could fly or not.  I opened the windows and had to leave him - he had hopped under the sofa.  My cat would have liked to spend her afternoon sleeping on the sofa but as she had been ejected, I found her asleep in the greenhouse when I got home.

When I got home I had a thorough search of the room and there was no robin to be found.  He must have gone out of the open window.  Of  course I don't know if he could fly OK, as there were a few more feathers around. than from the previous robin. I'll never know!

My cat usually catches mice and has never managed birds.  I can only think that these were last year's young who haven't learned enough about cats yet.  I hope not to see any more robins brought in by Pickle. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.