Life through the lens...

By ValC

My street No. 4

St Paul's church.

It is a while since I posted a blip for " my street ".
My street No. 3

This is our Church. St Pauls.
Consecrated in 1831.
The Emmet family provided the land in 1828 for the building of the church.
(More about the family in a later blip)
Parliament granted £3000 and a mock Gothic church in the Lancet style was the result.

I was waiting for the cherry trees to come out, to frame the picture.
These were planted 50 years ago, and at this time of year make a lovely backdrop for photographs.
Unfortunately there aren't many weddings at the church now.
When I had the flower shop in the village, 30 years ago, there was a wedding nearly every Saturday throughout the Summer.
How times have changed!

Today has been glorious. Wall to wall sunshine! Still a bit chilly out of the sun though.

I am looking forward to our walk tomorrow, along the river and canal near Ripon, and the weather sounds good.

Hope you are all enjoying the Bank holiday weekend too!








Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.