Lost in Melbourne

By MaxwellDoan

BELIEF

Do you believe in God?
Do you believe that there is someone up there silently watching and controlling your fate?

Growing up in a family with my father’s side being Christian and my mother’s side being Buddhism, I had mixed beliefs in most things. Why do we keep mourning for the past? Why do we thank God for the good things and blame God for the bad things that happen to us? Why do we stick to traditions and beliefs that are now old-fashioned and not open up to newer, more appropriate ideas?

I always thought of belief as a way people cope with things, the way people just blame everything bad that happens to them or something bad they do to a higher being above instead of learning and improving ourselves to be better. I kept that thought throughout my whole life as I didn’t believe in God but I believe in logic, in reality, I believe that things don’t happen because God decided that it happen but we make it happen, we decide and we control our own destiny.

My first employer asked if I believed in God as he was a Christian and he believed that people with no belief can’t be trusted. He always felt that people would stab him in the back if they don’t think that there’s a higher being up there watching. I, without any belief in higher beings, lost the job due to his beliefs. That experience further reinforced my distrust in God as I judge people who have beliefs to be unrealistic, I consider them to be blind followers, acting upon the name of God instead of reason and sensibility.

The older I get, the more I understand why they have beliefs. Some have beliefs to keep them alive, to have something to wake up for, something to constantly remind them of their morality and sense of what’s right and what’s wrong. Yes, it might be old-fashioned but it’s okay to be old-fashioned, I’ve acknowledged that their beliefs are set in stone and it’s harder for them to lose their religion and start acting for themselves rather in the name of God.

In my high school years, I believed in Satanism, not because it is evil or it is edgy or it is rebellious but it meant something totally different from what the people around me thought. Everyone around me thought Satanism was the belief in Satan, death, and all that’s evil but it’s preaching about freedom, fearlessness, power, and pleasure. Satanism teaches people how to live without faith, to live without praying to a God figure, teach people to enjoy life with its simple pleasures, and be fearless.

“We are our own gods”

I praise individualism, I praise the people who have pride in who they are as I felt as if they are more authentic, they live true to their own identity and that to me is very respectable as I was incapable of freeing myself from the identity of a terrible human being. I learned from a belief that no one believes in, I learned from something people consider bad due to their religion. But that’s what I believe in, you don’t have to.

We all got our own beliefs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.