Poppy

By Poppy

Making the most of it!

Another very cold night, with a thick frost awaiting us this morning. I am very glad of Lottie's company in my bed, she's a lot better than the hottie at my feet!

We drove to Tongue and walked up to Varrich castle, over the river. The path was well maintained and the walk was easy, though a bit steep towards the top. Lots of primroses, violets, small birch bushes and old trees covered in lichen. 

The castle is just a shell, most likely to have been built as a folly, but recently has had a very substantial steel spiral staircase built in the middle of it. Very reassuring and feels very safe, even Lottie came up. Coming down was a little trickier as she could see the ground through the metal mesh treads. The views from the top were pretty spectacular, looking over to the mountains and back down at Tongue.

After we'd had our picnic, S got out her painting things and also a set for me! Although I have watched her paint for all the years we've known each other, I've never attempted it since school days. She showed me the basics of water colour painting, and I managed a small painting of the view! Very rewarding! I really enjoyed it, especially as S is a teacher and very kind in her encouragement! I will try and do more. It would be a lovely thing to be able to do. As we painted(!) Lottie slept in a sheltered spot in the bracken. Mindful of ticks, I'd used a preventative treatment on her before we left home.

Later on we drove to Skerray for a quick walk and admired the little harbour and the island of Naeve not far off shore. Black skies, so we turned for home as it got more and more cold. Spent the evening chatting and reading and prompting each other as we updated our diaries!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.