CRIII

My brother asked me yesterday if I had seen many signs of preparation for the coronation in London.  This morning I saw the gardener finishing preparing the bed for bedding plants in the shape of the King's cypher in front of Kensington Palace. Somewhat poignantly, immediately to the left is the Princess Diana Memorial Garden, with a wonderful display of tulips this morning (first extra). We were at KP with a group from the V&A being shown around the fun exhibition called "Crown to Couture" which was all about the relationship between money, power, influence and fashion.  I could have posted lots of shots, but I have squeezed 3 into the second extra (and how any lady squeezed herself into that corset I will never know!).

Then we went to the BBC Radio 3 lunchtime concert at St Luke's with brilliant Mexican lutenist Sergio Buchelli (tuning his arch-lute in the third extra), who accompanied a lovely young soprano in a programme of Mediterranean and Latin American songs.

This evening we are going to a concert in a posh private house in Central London to kick off the 2023 Garsington opera festival.  What a fab day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.