EEPaul

By EEPaul

Run Fatboy Run. Good luck and all that!

A parting message from my darling wife.... I headed off early to catch the first of three trains needed to get me to Woking. A 15 minute walk and I was in Woking Park among the 100s gearing up for the Surrey Half and sundry other running events, dropping off my gear in the baggage drop in the leisure centre. And a little after 9am, I was running under the start banner....

At the fourth time of asking (after past cancellations due to the COVID lockdown, injury and illness), I had finally made it to a half marathon start-line ...

I ran most of the route at about 5:30/km; probably setting off a bit too briskly. I took on gels and water during a couple of 90s walk breaks, trying also to give my legs a break on some of the gradients. However, I started to suffer in the final kilometres, running became a bit slow and erratic, and in the final kilometre I slowed to a walk after feeling faint (and it triggered a Garmin alert which stopped my run record at the 20.65km, 1h55 mark). I needed help from a marshal to get to the finish (I have a registered finish chip time of 2:01:26). Turned out I'd overheated - my temperature had shot up to 40C and I needed post-race medic help (ice packs and dousing in cold water) to bring my temperature back down to normal levels. Really disappointed about the conclusion, especially as I have never experienced any kind of overheating issue before. And I have little memory of crossing the line or getting my medal, etc.

Afterwards, both my hips were uncharacteristically stiff, and it was a slow trudge back to Woking station and then through Waterloo station and London Bridge. But at least I completed the bloody thing....

I later discovered that I had badly bruised some toes (I now have three black toes, one on my left foot, two on my right) - a sign that my feet had swollen up. I have already ordered my next pair of running shoes half a size bigger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.