Woolly bear...

A foul day, with heavy rain and high winds. Pete and I went into Peterborough to visit the bank and do some urgent equipment shopping. I bought a couple of pairs of trousers, a size smaller than usual thanks to my healthy eating programme. I also bought an unstructured linen jacket, as I realised I shall have to look vaguely smart when Chris graduates from Uni in July and Alex graduates from college in June. I'm most comfortable in jeans and a shirt, so didn't want to get something I'd never wear again.

Late in the afternoon Rosie and Poppy had a visit to the vet. Rosie had her booster, and was pronounced very healthy for her age. Poppy has a nasty lump, which the vet thought was most likely to be a cyst. We decided a low intervention approach was best, and just have to monitor it for any sudden increase in size or shape. So fortunately not too expensive!!

The rain kept me from taking any outdoor images, so I decided to photograph this garden tiger moth caterpillar that Pete's rearing. This used to be a very common species all over the UK, but has experienced a very significant decline in the south and east, while remaining relatively frequent in the north and west. Another of the declining invertebrates that have been in the news recently...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.