RW's Daily Exposures

By rwsphotography

Whiptail Lizard Looks For A Quick Meal

The New Mexican State Lizard. This moth is large and I don't know the proper name for it, but it actually hovers over flowers and feeds on the pollen and nectar. It flies like a hummingbird using its wings to hover and fly around plants and away from prey - the lizard moved quickly but lost the game. Quite interesting to watch. This happened right in front of me as I was walking along the cement walk on the side of our home in Rio Rancho New Mexico. We've lived here for just short of 3 years now and enjoy the wildlife of the desert and the open lands and native culture.

Cheers to you ALL!
 
PS - I know it's been a long time, but I am back! I've maintained my membership and enjoying looking at all your photos. Now, I will be participating like before.

Peace & Love,

RW Schardt

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.