Tawny Frogmouth

Running a bit late today so I was feeding the horses after dark. On the way up the hill, here’s this character perched on the fence post.
It’s a Tawny Frogmouth, which are quite common around here but not often seen as they’re nocturnal and very well camouflaged. They are often confused with owls but there are plenty of morphological differences, the main ones being a much wider beak (although still hooked), lateral eyes and weaker legs than owls as they’re insectivorous and catch their prey with the beak as opposed to their feet.
I used to see them frequently at the vets as they’re prone to being hit by cars at night but they’re tough characters and often escape with non- life threatening injuries.
They’re a pleasure to handle, maybe not quite as easy as Kookaburras but vastly better than parrots and Cockatoos (I think I’ve expressed my opinion of Sulphur Crested Cockatoos in the past)!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.