Nettenet

By Nettenet

Night out

I left work as soon as the children had gone home so I could get home, change ready for our evening out.  My journey is usually around 20 mins. However, it was almost an hour due to the police closing the A3 due to an accident and having to take a detour.  I read later that the air ambulance had to land on the road. 

Part of my Christmas pressie from Mr C was to see Stewart Copeland at the London Coliseum.  Stewart was the drummer in The Police and has rearranged some of their songs with an orchestra and tonight was a one off performance.  The Police was the first ever concert that I attended in a Big Top on Tooting Bec Common and the week before we had to queue up all night on the common to get tickets. Nothing to a 16/17 year old. However, it was in December!  We had Tommy Cooper as a support act who sadly got booed as the youngsters just wanted the band on.  We were right in front of the group and I enjoyed my first experience of a live concert.  

Back to tonight’s performance, it was very much a no frills event.  Quite basic lighting and no backdrops of pictures or anything.  We both enjoyed the different arrangements to the songs but I think I was a little underwhelmed by the whole thing. Stewart himself was very entertaining and full of life.

The concert was over by 9:30 and we decided to have a bit of a walk around.  Heading to Covent Garden.  There was a singer entertaining a large crowd and he was brilliant.  Singing parts of well known songs that the crowd could join in with.  From there it was back to Leicester Square where we were able to sit outside and enjoy tea and coffee. Extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.