digitaldave

By DigitalDave

Cherry Blossom

The cherry blossom is out on the Stray, although I think it may not yet be quite at its best. I decided to do a blip of it anyway, as it doesn't usually last long. Unfortunately the sun refused to come out for me.
There were crowds out viewing the blossom (see extra), and I noticed many Chinese and Japanese people among them having picnic parties . 
I did a little research and discovered that for many Japanese, the blooming of the cherry blossom trees symbolises human life, transience and nobleness. The Japanese love to celebrate and cherish the cherry blossoms trees during the limited flowering period and many people hold 'flower watching' parties known as hanami.
For the Chinese, the symbolism of this flower is quite different. In China cherry blossoms are symbolic of feminine power, mystique and beauty. They herald the arrival of Spring and new life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.