May Eve

Traditionally a day to mind the good people fairies for they can be out and about causing mischief. Flowers left on the doorstep overnight tend to do the trick.
It's also an auspicious day for visiting wells (as is tomorrow) as we leave the dark half of the year and head into the light - recognised by the ancient festival of Bealtaine and the beginning of summer. The day was warm and sunny! We headed for Lough Ine and Skour Well which has its feast day today and was looking very smart and ready for action.  We also went to nearby Tobairín na Súl, an eye well, which is deep in the woods and very mysterious and covered in offerings, including a feather boa. We did spot a fairy, quite a sweet looking one.
We had a picnic lunch down by the lough and I did my good deed for the day - helped a woman zip herself into her wetsuit! 
Then we  climbed Kockomogh Hill behind the long - two kilometres straight up! I was knackered!! But the views from the top were mighty (this is about half way up) and everywhere dense with mossy trees and wild flowers. It was busy though, it being Bank Holiday. We treated ourselves to what turned out to be enormous 99s on our way home.

And don't forget to roll in the dew tomorrow morning for ensured gorgeousness for the coming year.

Oh and I do have to share my dream from last night, Cheeryoscuro  , Martindawe  and I were entering a marathon. Digest that information first. We were all in the gear with numbers on our vests and we were heading for Clonakilty. Then I had the slightly niggardly worry that I couldn't actually run. The lads also expressed concerns and it was getting dark. The route was thronged with well wishers though - what to do? I reckoned I could probably manage a mile highly wishful thinking but things were getting a bit tense when thankfully  I woke up!  Don't even attempt to interpret that. Heck, I've just seen Martin's blip!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.