The Chorley Pals

Back when we lived in Chorley, on weekends when I didn't have the kids, I would often walk along to The Station Ale House in the evening and meet Dom for a glass of wine or two.

It's been a while since we've done that, what with moving to Salford and the pandemic, but this evening the opportunity presented itself, and we took full advantage of that.

We started off, in our own tradition, at The Station Ale House, only to find that these days the landlord calls last orders at eight o'clock. Fortunately, another favourite of ours, The Shepherd's Hall Ale House, is just over the road.

It has expanded considerably since we were last there - possibly down to the influx of people being throw out across the road - and we found a nice table by the window.

I only realised afterwards, with some pleasure, that despite the fact we work together, I don't think we discussed that once.

On the station platform afterwards, waiting for the train back to Salford, I saw this plaque. Perhaps it was the wine, but I was oddly moved by it, thinking of those young men, going off to fight and give up their lives in such grim conditions, and without whom I would not have been able to enjoy an evening with my pal, tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.