MikeWest

By MikeWest

Aerial Ballet

I opted for a shorter focal length today, by removing the teleconverter, to get a wider aperture and hence more speed on account of it being dull and windy having rained most of the day. I noticed as a result an increase in sharpness which made me question again the usefulness of the converter. Less reach means more cropping, but sharper images.

Despite the conditions I found a lot of interest. I caught the red cardinal just as it departed its perch high in the willow. It almost looks like its performing a ballet manoeuvre. At first I tried sharpening the bird and decided instead I preferred the movement in this image.

I was pleased to see the wood duck again, I thought I might have scared it away. And the egret showed up. I didn't quite get him landing, but waited a while and captured him taking off.

Extra: Ducking Out Of The Wind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.